J. J. Watt Betting Favorite for 2017 Defensive Player of the Year Award

J. J. Watt Favorite for 2017 Defensive Player of the Year Award at US Sportsbooks

Sites for betting endorse defensive end for the Houston Texans Justin James “J. J.” Watt for 2017 National Football League Defensive Player of the Year Award. And it’s easy to see why. JJ has won the award three times in the last five seasons and is one of only two three-time as well as back-to-back winners – the other being Hall of Famer New York Giants linebacker Lawrence Taylor. We’ll never know whether Watt could have become the first to win it thrice in a row; back surgery for a herniated disc cut his 2016 season short at three games in which he had eight tackles (one solo, seven assisted), and 1½ sack. However, Texans head coach Bill O’Brien has confirmed Watt will play in the preseason opening game against the Panthers. And unless Coach O’Brien is a sadistic dungeon master – which he most probably isn’t – it can be surmised that Watt has a clean bill of health and is ready to bring the pain alongside an also healthy Jadeveon Clowney.

The Ready-for-Thirty Club

Standing on Watt’s way to DPOY are Oakland Raiders defensive end Khalil Mack and Denver Broncos outside linebacker Vonnie B’Vsean ‘Von’ Miller Jr., both of whom have expressed their desire to reach the vaunted 30-sack mark in a single season – a accomplishment so unlikely that it alone could make the man to do it Defensive Player of the Year favorite among sites for betting in the US. Mack was DPOY of the 2016 season, highlights of which included becoming the first player since Charles Woodson in 2009 to finish a game with an interception, a sack, a forced fumble, a fumble recovery, and a defensive touchdown. Additionally, Mack set a new career-best in forced fumbles with five and fumbles recovered with three.

Meanwhile, Miller was the 2011 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year and the Super Bowl 50 MVP, but the Defensive Player of the Year Award has eluded him thus far. He finished last season with 13.5 sacks and 24 quarterback hits but failed to have a sack in the last four games of the regular season – the longest period without a sack in his career.

Other contenders

Joey Bosa. The Los Angeles Chargers defensive end came across as a bit of a prima donna before even setting foot on the gridiron – the setting of which foot was delayed four weeks as a result of a hamstring injury. Nevertheless, Bosa finished his rookie year with 41 tackles, 10½ sacks, and a forced fumble in 12 games and was named the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Luke Kuechly. The Carolina Panthers linebacker was the 2012 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year and the 2013 NFL Defensive Player of the Year. He finished 2016 with 102 tackles (71 solo, 31 assisted) in spite of missing the last six games of the regular season with a concussion.

Aaron Donald. The Los Angeles Rams defensive end was ejected for the first time in his NFL career on September 12, 2016 for making illegal contact with a referee. He was fined $21,269 for unnecessary roughness and unsportsmanlike conduct on September 16. On October 21, he was fined and additional $18,231 for an unsportsmanlike conduct after committing the penalty during a game against the Lions. So sites for betting know he has the aggressiveness to win this award; he just needs to channel it more wisely.